…channeling Mario and Lord of the Rings…

IMG_8151

It started with the sticker machines at the grocery store.  Then he asked for a “soft” Yoshi (aka, a Yoshi plush).  He also knew that Mario and Luigi were part of the “family”.  So after managing to procure the last small Mario plush at the toy store, he needed Luigi.  Once he had Luigi, he carried around the group all the time.  He loved them!  Still does, but I borrowed a little from LOTR for my title of “his PRECIOUS.”  Hee hee.

IMG_8155

Then there’s a lot of fussy cutting from patterned paper and journal cards.  I also added a metal clip holding some baker’s twine bits.  The background started as some Amy Tangerine Plus One paper (I mentioned this before, I love Amy Tangerine!).  Lots of people use white gesso before adding media, but I didn’t want to tone down the paper, just prep it for media.  So I went with some Matte Medium.

IMG_8160

Then I added some swaths of color, as well as some green through a Dylusions stencil, the did some stamping.  The tiny stars are a pattern stamp from a past Studio Calico kit.  Other words came from Citrus Twist kits, and “I Love You” is from 3rd Eye (a Polish company that sadly closed down, but you can still find stuff at other online stores).  I used a Citrus Twist sketch for this layout.

IMG_8161

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

Leave a Reply

