…jumping, just because…

“why jump? because”

IMG_5099

Unfortunately, I missed the deadline for this challenge at Off the Rails by thismuch.  They’re based in Australia, so time zones weren’t on my side.  However, I wanted to post this because it proves that even if you aren’t the biggest fan of the challenge, you can still make it work for you.

IMG_5100

So the March challenge was a vintage moodboard with a sketch.  Browns, old paper, vintage photo, you get the idea.  I don’t love brown or vintage.  Just not my style, I really struggle with it, if I can get anything done at all.  So at first, I wasn’t going to enter.  Then I saw other entries that were using the orange tones from the moodboard, so I decided to give it a try.

IMG_5101

I used colorful photos to help me work with it, and I tried to stay with the orange-ish shade and metal, cardboard, and wood embellishments.  I did use a little old school type paper from October Afternoon (pretty sure).  I also practically tore this layout apart and re-did it.  I’d had a lot of layers, and I just wanted feeling it.

IMG_5102

Again, lighter colored papers and I was struggling.  So I took stuff apart, switched papers and embellishments a bit, and put it back down.  I’m fairly pleased with what I ended up with.

IMG_5103

I knew what background paper I wanted to use, but I took a picture of it before I did anything cuz I want to try to recreate it myself.  Yeah, I really like it.  Anyway, I wanted to use Dyan Reaveley’s circles stencil, but didn’t want to use something opaque over the orange, so out came the gloss gel.

IMG_5105

After that I added two shades of orange with my watercolor crayons to my background and my layers.  Little guy helped with the doodles/scribbles :).

IMG_5106

As I said, I went through my stash and pulled out wood, metal, and cardboard for the brown/vintage tone.  Inspired by the rose’s leaf, I added a few pops of green
IMG_5107
After I glued and re-glued all my stuff down, I added some orange paint, as well as splatters from my homemade orange spray (orange paint and water, baby!).  I also rough outlined several pieces with a black pen (fine point Sharpie and Fude ball 1.5 tip).

IMG_5098

I used a mini star background stamp (courtesy of my SC kit) and stamped using black archival ink.  I didn’t put it on a block, just used my hands.
IMG_5104
I LOOOOVE Kal Barteski’s brush lettering.  I’d gotten some thickers in the brush style, and since they were pink I gessoed over the top.  I painted the letters for part of my title, then grabbed cardboard letters and TH letters (which I covered in white, then orange paint) for my title.  I had journaling all set, but no place to put the card, so I decided it doesn’t need it.  Cuz how long have kids been jumping for fun?  Since, like, the beginning of time.  I’d say that’s pretty vintage, hmm?

So even if a challenge isn’t to your immediate liking, give it a shot.  You might surprise yourself.

Happy scrapping!

Leave a Reply

