…loving the hello hug…

…breaking out some unused stamps 🙂

For this month’s sketch at Kreative Koncepts (formerly Scrapfriends), I mixed some bright-ish colors with pastels and a little neon, as well as some mixed media.  The weather’s been iffy around here, since we’re heading into winter, so I’m trying to capture stuff as best I can.

“my hello hug”

tracy c_scrapmuse_my-hello-hug

First, I want to show you something that made me laugh, and hopefully you’ll get a chuckle.  You’re trying to stick something down and you have to hold it just so, but you’re needed elsewhere?  Well, for me, here was my solution to the problem:

tracy c_scrapmuse_bobby pin fix

That is a bobby pin holding jewelry wire.  I was trying to glue the wire to a certain spot, and used what I had on hand (or in this case, in pocket) to hold it in place while the glue dried 😛  Craftiness or insanity?  You be the judge 🙂

tracy c_scrapmuse_bobby pin fix2

Anyway, on to my layout.  Since I’m coming home later in the day from having to take the train, and little guy still needing to get to bed for school, I’ve been getting welcome hugs and a “Hi, Mommy!” from the monster, who’s been bathed and in his pjs.  I managed to capture a photo of one such hug (so, yeah, a selfie or sorts, but hubby’s busy with the rest of bedtime ritual, so…).

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup11_hello_hug

I used some Glitz Design patterned paper, swiping gesso over the bottom embellished part (I flipped the paper upside down to work for my design and the sketch).  I stamped, painted through stencils, and doddled with black sharpie and paint pen.

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup12_hello_hug

I altered some of my embellishments.  A wood clock face and butterfly die-cut.  I used pieces cut from a dried baby wipe and paper towel.  I covered a chipboard frame with washi tape, and a flair badge.

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup4_hello_hug

Since I’m walking around the city, I used chipboard squares (a few I cut into smaller pieces) to represent the “pavement” or city streets.

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup8_hello_hug

Word stickers and a rub-on, painted Thickers, sequins, a chipboard arrow I cut in half to go through the word “hello” and draw the eye to my photo.

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup5_hello_hug

That’s part of a paper border that I cut up and my own doodled letters, as well as a journaling sticker with a just right phrase.  “HUG” is also rub-ons.

tracy c_scrapmuse_closeup6_hello_hug

I put a bunch of scraps on my table and then put stencils over them and sprayed with different colors.  I keep the colors within the same family so I don’t get mud, and I let everything dry for a full day before I spray again, also so I don’t get mud.  The paper layers are pieces from just that fun.  There’s also a Fancy Pants button from the Be Different collection, and fussy cut squares from a scrap mag freebie (also FP Little Sprouts).  Lots of doodling and Tattered Angels Almost Black splatters, along with the thread and wire frame.

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

One thought on “…loving the hello hug…

  1. Pingback: Have Wipes, Will Clean (even when you think it’s not necessary) | Lost My Mirror

Leave a Reply

