…putting her own twist…

…on a interesting challenge.

IMG_3890

Gauche Alchemy’s November challenge is an inspiration board of art from Gustav Klimt.  My only scrap of knowledge of Gustav Klimt is his painting The Kiss, but I went looking for it after seeing a picture on Pinterest of a couple cosplaying as the painting.  Quick tangent for the un-initiated, cosplaying is dressing up in a character’s costume (as in costume play, or cosplay).  Usually if you’re a comic book or anime/manga fan, you’re well aware of cosplaying (I did, in fact, attend I-Con cosplaying as Robin from Witchhunter Robin).  Plus, the prize is a punchinella pack, and can I just say I’ve drooled over punchinella since I first saw it?  Oh yeah, how I would loooooove some punchinella 😀

IMG_3891

So anyway, after musing (sorry for the pun, couldn’t resist) over the moodboard, and viewing shots of his work, trying to get a feel, I knew I wanted to use the repeated appearance of eyes in his work.  An idea came for funky eye flowers, and I’d recently taken a class with Dyan Reaveley (which I cannot recommend enough!  Oh my, did I have fun, and she is an absolute joy as a teacher), so I thought I’d make a little mini canvas.

IMG_3892

I’d experimented with some patterned paper and leftover paper tape, and used my HS Teal Color Shine (so there’s my metallic bit).

IMG_3893

I also used pattern/shape repetition in a bunch of ways, using stencils, cardstock and paint pens.  I wanted to add some bright colors (cuz I love ’em) and used Dyan’s toadstools stamp (toadstools have spots, mushrooms don’t) and markers.

IMG_3894

I like how it turned out, especially because I was trying to think of what the heck I could use this experiment for.  Now it’s funky weird garden a la Alice in Wonderland 🙂

This will be showing up in my Etsy shop at some point soon *wink, wink*

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

4 thoughts on “…putting her own twist…

  1. Pingback: November’s Winner!

Leave a Reply

