…dusting off the crayons…

…and colored pencils.

too cute

IMG_3585

So I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ll say it again.  As of August this year, I got a job in NYC and I live on Long Island.  That means a long-ish commute both ways and a slightly earlier wake-up, so a bit less time at night.  I’ve also tried to explain in detail how I’ve made my layouts, cuz layouts I’ve seen that I love don’t really tell me how they do it.  However, I think that’s where comments can come in.  You ask, and get an answer.  And I do like love comments and questions and in the interest of time, etc., my posts are going to be shorter.  I’ll try to highlight things here and there, but please, by all means, comment and question to your heart’s content! 😀

Now, on to the layout.  I saw this Fancy Pants sketch and thought it’d be great for two random photos of my little guy.

IMG_3607

So I had a different plan for this layout, but that’s okay.  I like how it turned out.

IMG_3611

I started with FP Me-ology paper ‘Oh Snap’ for my background paper.  I’m always playing with my camera and that includes taking lots of photos of my little monster (most of the time an affectionate term :P).  He got a mini trampoline for his birthday (and no, I can’t play on it, the weight limit is 100 lbs.), which he loves.  A weekend afternoon playing on the trampoline and I luckily capture this moment.  I used gesso, stencils, my Faber Castell crayons and acrylic paint for the background texture.

IMG_3608

I matted my photos on pieces of pieces FP Be Different ‘Silly’ and ‘Personality.’ The two large tags are mop up tags.  I added white paint around the photos and stencilled the border frame.  The monster ticket is also from the Be Different collection.

IMG_3606

IMG_3605

I added paper and fabric tape, part of a Glitz Design journaling card, a bottle cap holding thread and a couple buttons, wood veneer card “love” , ribbons, a mini clothesline pin, some chipboard and a TH painted gear. The “Too” part of the title was drawn on a FP chalkboard tag with a white colored pencil, and filled in with a mint colored pencil from Tombow Soft Brights set (giveaway win, woot!) and cut out.

And, of course, more close-ups.

IMG_3604

IMG_3601

IMG_3602

IMG_3603

Please don’t hesitate to ask questions and thanks for visiting.

Happy scrapping!

Leave a Reply

