…in her happy place…

 

 

…and on a side note….it’s my birfday!  *sing-song* It’s my birfday, it’s my birfday. *cough* Anyway, so I turned 35 as of about 2AM this morning (apparently I was born a night owl :P).  It’s raining today, which I don’t mind, but I’m hoping to have some good arty crafty fun this weekend.  IN the meantime, I’ll present you with another spread from my little travel art journal.

“Art is my happy place”

IMG_3338

So I took advantage of some scrappy sales recently and got a bunch of scrap goodies 😀  One is an Amy Tangerine rubber wood-mounted stamp set.  These stamps are a good size and the wood block is huge!  I’ve got a fair amount of wood-mounted rubber stamps, but the wood part is quite a bit thicker on these Amy Tangerine stamps.  Oh, and have I mentioned I love these stamps!  There’s a square frame and then some brush script images and ths brush script phrase you see above,

IMG_3339

You’ll remember from my previous post that I made the backgrounds already with my Dylusions color sprays and some stencils.  I had actually stamped the “happy place” stamp before I did a lot of the other stuff, and worked around it.  I used the striped cloud and sun from a dollar bin Studio G stamp set with my blue and orange dye ink cubes from Rubber Stampede.  I’ve had these dye ink cubes forever, and they’re nice bright colors and they dry fast.

IMG_3340

So of course, I had to add brackets and arrows 🙂  I used a yellow pen to fill in the open letter spaces, as well as some other doodling.  I also used a Marcy Uchida brush marker in Peacock, a calligraphy marker in yellow, and my black pen for more doodling.

IMG_3341

I also splurged and bought a starter paint pen set, wihch came with the primaries (red, blue, yellow), green, black, and white.  I used the white paint pen to outline the stamped text.

IMG_3342

I had added some green chevron and multi-colored star washi tape and doodled the words.

IMG_3343

IMG_3344

You can also see my other cloud stamp peeking out underneath.  I love how the random placing ot the clouds and text stamp made a kind of heart in the lower loop of the “y”.  Happy accident!  And just for a little scale, I snapped a photo of my journal next to my TH Distress Ink pad.

IMG_3345

4 thoughts on “…in her happy place…

  1. I like Amy Tangerine’s style and products. And oh yeah, happy accidents put a smile on my face. 🙂

    Happy Belated Birthday!

Leave a Reply

