…in love with fairy tales…

IMG_3129

…and my dear hubby.  So when I saw the September moodboard at Scrap Around the World, it immediately brought him to mind.

SATW Sept Moodboard

He’s a fabulous (yes, I’m biased, but I’m far from his only fan) fantasy fiction writer, published on Amazon Kindle (Charles E Yallowitz, http://www.legendsofwindemere.com).  He’s been creating stories since he was a kid, and he’s got this amazing creative imagination.  The old tomes made me think of some of his influences, including J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis.  The exposed gears reminded me of his interesting injection of technology into his world (for anyone who’s read fantasy fiction, technology is not high on the list).  And I don’t do nearly enough scrapping about my hubby, so this was perfect.

I also found this great sketch on Creative Scrappers and thought it’d be awesome.  I’d recently gotten some scrap goodies and wanted to play.

Creative Scrappers 277

I pulled out some old and new goodies for this layout.  I got some new papers from Amy Tangerine and Fancy Pants, as well as tons of other awesomeness.  My initial idea didn’t quite work out as planned, but it’s cool 🙂

IMG_3138

First I took some patterned paper I didn’t really like and flipped it to have a blank background to start.  Since my hubby’s a writer, and I had leftover alphas (who doesn’t, right?) I made three columns, the middle with old Thickers and the side with flat alpha stickers.  Then I covered them with gesso and stamped using a large rubber ticket stamp from Unity and Archival black stamp pad.  I gave the background a spritz with Dylusions Calpso Teal and Postbox Red.  Then I pained over the alphas with green, blue, and yellow paint.

IMG_3132

Didn’t quite go as planned, since Dylusions is water-reactive and mixed with the paint.  But, no worries.  I thought the background was a little too bright, so I grabbed a Dina Wakeley stencil and gessoed over everything but the painted letters.

IMG_3135

After that it was time to start layering.  Patterned paper, a kraft photo frame, other die-cuts and Amy Tangerine embellishments.  I used some older alphas, and a chipboard alpha that I had initially painted, but it was too light, so I wrapped it in washi tape.

IMG_3136

I also used washi tape on the sides of a journaling card and painted over the words and added more leftover alphas.  You can see I also added some paint smudges to help tie everything together.

IMG_3134

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!  Feel free to ask any questions! 🙂

6 thoughts on “…in love with fairy tales…

Leave a Reply

