relishing the pure joy…

…of this fabulous photo I was able to capture of my son.

IMG_2744

I submitted this to last month’s CSI/Scrap365 collaboration file, but never actually posted it. Main reason is my new schedule. I was working close-ish to home part-time, which meant I had two whole days during the week to work on stuff. I got a great new job in the city recently; pay, benefits, great people, etc. I also now have a commute into the city every day, which takes a fair chunk out of my day. I’m working on getting an art journal/scrapbooking travel kit put together so my lunch break can be put to good use, as well as my ride home.

IMG_2745
Anyway, so with all this, I don’t know how many challenges I’ll be able to submit to, but I’m determined to enter at least one a month, regardless of the project (layout, canvas, ATC, etc.)

IMG_2746
So I had this photo (I’ve got several more from that morning) of my son playing with a balloon that the grandparents brought back from a New Year’s Eve party. Now he’s only stayed up until midnight one time, mainly because he does not sleep in most mornings anyway and he’s a beast when he’s tired (aren’t we all :P). So he came downstairs New Year’s morning and found a balloon. You can see from the look on his face that he was a tad ecstatic 😀

IMG_2751
So I wanted to experiment with a gelato watercolor-esque background. I don’t own any gelatos, but I do have a set of Faber-Castell water-soluble crayons. From what I’ve seen (having never used gelatos, though I’ve used regular crayons), what I have are smoother than regular kids crayons but not quite as smooth as gelatos. At some point I will have to get me some gelatos.

IMG_2747
So working with the color scheme, I stuck with the blue and green shades. I’d color, then used my waterbrush to blend it in to watercolor effect. After that I did some freehand doodling as well as doodling with my HS circle/star/heart stencil. I used my Marvy Uchida stamp markers (which I need to use more) to add some color to the circles. They might have some out looking more like bubbles, but it stills works I think.

IMG_2753
The same blue and green I combined with accents in the other colors. I cut some patterned paper strips as well as a few small pieces from the cover of an Amy Tangerine paper pad. Stapled them, outlined with my black Sharpie, and added a button and TH gear. I traced over the bottom label sticker with my Sharpie (it was pink originally), and took a flat homemade “flair” circle of patterned paper and pressed it into a bottle cap. I used an Amy Tangerine border strip, as well as some classic Mickey Mouse paper and part of a inked doily. I also added a large photo corner type cluster, although it’s fairly well hidden. I stamped using a circles Inkadinkado stamp set and my Rubber Stampede mini dye ink pads, then cut a scallop corner from that white stamped cardstock and the Mickey paper, layered them, and stapled. I also added some doodle clouds.

IMG_2750

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

2 thoughts on “relishing the pure joy…

Leave a Reply

