…showing another side…

…that’s not always happy.

 I’ve noticed that a lot of scrapbooking, art journaling, mixed media in general tend to have a positive, celebratory vibe.  And I’m not complaining, but my art journal spread this week really evolved from the way it started, as in, not at all.  I also got inspired by the Gauche Alchemy August Moodboard.  I know a little about Frida Kahlo, but I’ll admit I was inspired by the colors.

“I don’t want to be afraid”

IMG_2477

I recently saw a YouTube video that showed a way to use up cardstock/patterned paper you don’t like anymore.  So I tried it.  In this case, it was patterned paper that I never really loved in the first place, but it came in a paper pack, so there you go.  I ended up using this scraps of patterned paper to cover the base, but then did my gessoing (is that a word?, meh).  Then I did a base of lemon yellow and vermillion (orange).  I intended it to be more mixed together, but it worked out in the end.  Like I said, even with the moodboard, I had trouble.

IMG_2478

I was also working on other projects and added the leftover paint to my spread using stencils and masks (the silhouette is my own – made with clear packing tape and a department store model cutout).  I also used Dylusions Jade through an alphabet stencil before that.

IMG_2479

I was thinking about my struggle with postpartum anxiety/OCD and other personal issues intertwined with that.  The black paint around the silhouette seems like the emotions vibrating/radiating from the figure.  The small words are an alpha stamp set, while I doodled in some spots with my black Sharpie.  I wrote the word “afraid” with black paint, then used my white-out pen to bring attention to the word.

IMG_2482

IMG_2481

IMG_2480

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

9 thoughts on “…showing another side…

  1. This is an awesome spread! I love how you were inspired by the colors of the mood board, even with the creative struggle, this turned out beautiful. Art journaling has become my personal safety net to process the darkness, even my “meh” pages make me feel good. lol

    Thanks for playing along!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I feel the same way. Sometimes you’re not happy, and it’s okay. Art journaling is about expressing yourself, no matter what your emotion.

  2. I love how your spread is honest. Not every day is sunshine, rainbows, and unicorn farts. Your spread is inspiring and I love the symbolism with the black paint and white lettering. I think we all have dark days and we all need to know that it’s ok to share them. Thank you for playing along over at Gauche Alchemy!

    • Thanks, yeah, it came together as it went. I’ve noticed that crafters are either weary of doing somethin that could be perceived as negaive, or they feel there’s enough negativity in the world. Sometimes you just gotta let it out. Thank you so much for your comment!

  3. Love this! It really shows a struggle to be more colourful and ‘out there’. Great job on the challenge I’m so glad it pushed you into something cathartic and maybe a little healing.

Leave a Reply

