…trying new things with SDC 159…

…and liking the outcome so far.

First off, I will say this – I’m not a bow person.  I’m not a pink, frilly, glitter person.  I’ll add touches here and there, but I won’t go crazy.  So for the current Stampotique Designer’s Challenge is bows.  Yeah, I saw that and I’m thinking, what the heck can I make?  Granted I’ve got loads of ribbon and fabric, but I was stumped for a little bit.

Then I saw the first project by Gay Peplow, and loved it!  Not only did it inspire me for the album I’m making for some friends, but the laced ribbon also reminded me that a bow comes in many different forms.

I’m experimenting with different sizes.  I’ve done layouts, cards, started delving into tags, and now ATCs.  I was making a canvas and had paint leftover, so onto a couple ATCs.  Here’s the one I’m entering into this challenge:

“All Sunshine and Happiness” (and a bit of snark :P)

IMG_2359

I started with some patterned paper I didn’t like and turned it over and covered it in the fabulous blue.  I also did some swipes/mark making with a deep orange, some neon yellow (they look green, which is fine) splatters, black paint through a HS honeycomb stencil and some doodling with black sharpie and white-out pen.  I’m not a huge flower person, but this is a funky, different sort of flower.  The flower bud is a pattern block stamp with black pen doodling around it (leftover from a previous project that was never used).  I added the alpha stickers and colored them orange, and outlined them with my white gelly roll pen.  The “sunshine and happiness” are from a stamp set that I stamped onto white cardstock (after checking it would fit) and cut it out, then doodled around the frame.  I also used my super fine point black Copic pen for the doodling.  For the lacing, I used one of the strings that come on those manila office tags, used my hole-punch, and laced it through.

IMG_2358

This will also be up for sale in my Etsy shop soon, so check it out!

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

6 thoughts on “…trying new things with SDC 159…

  1. What a great bit of lacing on your ATC ….. With a bow at the end!
    Thank you for joining us at the stampotique designers challenge blog

  2. You oh-so-brilliantly solved using a bow in your art today! Very, very clever indeed! Thank you so much for participating in the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge this month!

Leave a Reply

