…playing with new goodies…

So I won a couple of giveaways and also made an order  that came in and was LOADED 😛  So I’m finally using a photo (two copies because I just have to scrap 2+ photos) that I took of my son wrapped in his frog hooded towel after his bath.  The photo is a couple of years old, I think, and it’s a perfect close-up, clear shot of my little monster (affectionate term, honest! – well, usually 🙂  This is my entry for Kreative Koncepts Sketch Challenge 28

“That’s the ticket”

IMG_2393

and here’s the sketch:

Sketch28

Definitely a mix of old and new.  First off, the really like this paper, the whimsical doodling rocks, and the reverse side is the same design with the colors reversed.  It’s from a manufacturer that I don’t really go for usually, but this caught my attention and I grabbed two sheets 🙂

IMG_2363

I stared by doing some mixed media.  Dylusions sprays and then paint through stencils.  I made sure to try to keep the stenciled designs in a contrasting color to let them shine.  Then i added several strips of old and new washi tape.  After I put down some of the tape, I decided I wanted to put some more down under the photo.  Problem: I’d already glued it down and added gesso around the edges.  So what’s a girl to do?  I pulled out my self-healing craft mat, Fiskars multi-tool (include an exacto blade) and cut somewhat widely around the entire area.  Now I had to figure out what to stick the tape too.  Enter heavy duty patterned paper that I didn’t love anymore.  It happened to have the same shades as my layout.  I glued the larger part of my layout down, leaving the hole for the photo spot.  Added some foam adhesive and it’s good!

IMG_2368

I was trying to figure out the hexagons.  I don’t have those, and I could have cut some from patterned paper, and at some point I might do that just for the future, but I had some patterned paper with tickets lined up.  An idea was brewing.

IMG_2364

I fussy cut the tickets, covered them in gesso, then using my HS honeycomb stencil, I sprayed Dylusions Cut Grass, Calypso Teal, and a mix of Lemon Zest and Postbox Red (to make orange), making sure each layer dried before spraying the next and shifting the stencil between colors.

IMG_2367

Then I took an alphabet stencil (dollar store buy, three in a pack) and used my Tattered Angels Almost Black.  After that came time to play with a new stencil and medium.  Dina Wakley’s Plastic Canvas (I attended her class at Scrapper’s Playground, Woot!) and modeling paste were applied to the tickets.  When the paste was finally dry, I determined where they were going to go on my layout (approximately) and drew pencil lines on those tucked under a layer so I knew where not to add stuff.  Then I broke out my mini alpha stickers and some graffiti-esque rub-ons and went to town with phrases, etc.  I lastly added a black border with my sharpie.

IMG_2365

I made my own “flair” from some gelli-printed paper and a chipboard star.  I also used some other scraps (the black and white paper on the right actually says “freeze frame”, and I played with a piece of orange cardstock.  I open sprayed it (no stencil/mask/anything) with Dylusions Postbox Red.  Then I added some blue paint through my DW Plastic Canvas stencil.  After that was my HS chevron stencil and black paint.  Then I decided to use my postage stamp border punch on one edge.  I really liked it, but didn’t want to use the whole thing, so i cut off a small piece and still have the rest to play with.

IMG_2366

I also added other stash stuff.  A feather, chipboard bracket (I love brackets!), an Amy Tangerine frame, some older Fancy Pants die-cuts, as well as black thread to help anchor the tickets and triangles.  The title is alpha stamps and Colorbox pigment ink in orange and blue and larger blue alpha stickers.

IMG_2369

Whew!!  Check out the Kreative Koncepts blog for tons of eye candy and great tutorials!

P.S. I’m thinking of changing my blog theme to either a dark pattern or lighter color scheme, for ease of read, etc.  Any thoughts?

P.P.S.  I tell all the details of my work because I like to know how people make stuff.  I’m debating cutting down on the how-to in some way.  Do you like the tell-all details of my crafty ways or simple is better and you can comment and ask me?

As always, thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

Leave a Reply

