…proud of me…

…for making a layout I really like when the color scheme was a real challenge.

Xpress Yourself

IMG_1126

I prefer bright colors, so when I saw the new palette for The Color Room Palette # 169, I knew it’d be a challenge, mainly because it’s monochromatic.

TCR June

 I did, however, find a fair amount of the shades and made it work for me.  I also have a lot of photos from a Labor Day weekend when my son was about 15 months old.  When I saw the June Challenge for Once Upon a Sketch, things came together.

Once Upon a Sketch gives the following journaling prompt and sketch:
 
” the best things in life aren’t things”
Capture
So as I mentioned, I scoured my stash for olive tones, and I actually found a few, a good portion of it patterned paper, but I wanted to keep white as the main color.  At least half of my embellishments I made myself.  Triangles of patterned paper, stamped die-cuts, hand-drawn die-cuts, painted vellum (the green and black striped paper behind the photos), you get the picture.
IMG_1127
I really wanted to use some x’s that I’d cut out of patterned paper, so I attached them to green ribbon before gluing them to my layout.
IMG_1133
On the background, I used my black sharpie and honeycomb stencil in various spots.  I also took my green pigment stamp pad and brushed on some green, and tapped on some Tattered Angels Almost Black splatters.  The photos are a few from an impromptu photo shoot at Labor Day of 2010 (little guy was about 15 months and the weather was nice, so he was diaper baby :P)  The journaling is about my sister-in-law’s best friend, who had just gotten a new digital SLR and wanted to play with it, and my little guy was just fine being the subject of her photo shoot.  I love all the clear crisp photos of his different facial expressions.  Too cute and so him.  I actually had two copies of the far right photo, and accidentally got black ink splatters on the photo in the strip.  So I cut out the other one and popped it up on dimensional adhesive.
IMG_1128
I initially had a different title in mind, and had used green glitter glue on the letters.  I changed my title, but still stuck the letters on randomly.  A touch of shine 😛  I used chipboard letters from a MME Halloween alpha set.  The word “yourself” is made with Prima alpha stickers.  I also made some circle shapes with fabric glue and ribbon, and used Studio Calico journal stickers, along with Amy Tangerine die-cuts, white sequins, and a triangle border strip cut from fabric.  There’s a green vellum frame, a couple die-cut stickers from Simple Stories Documented, part of a paper doily with green ink smeared on it, even some hole punches with some doodling and a white feather (cuz I love feathers).
IMG_1136
Thanks for stopping by and happy scrapping!
13 thoughts on “…proud of me…

  1. So many lovely details…so beautifully created! You should be proud…you ROCKED it, friend. 🙂

  2. I think you rocked the green tones. It can be quite challenging. I love the photos of your little one and the layout came out really well. Thanks so much for playing along with us at OUAS this month.

  3. Awesome layout with so many amazing details, however you forgot to add the TCR-Heart and Soul colour palette. You will need to do this in order to be in the running for the judging. Cheers Di

Leave a Reply

