…loving this sketch…

…and how my layout turned out.

rockin’ the scarf

IMG_1245

The top layer of paper began as white cardstock.  I’d drawn with my black sharpie and my Mini Bricks stencil, then added my homemade texture paste (a recipe I found on another blog) inside the stencilled bricks.  I then did some paint/pigment ink pad and stencil work , but it needed something more.  Then I attacked the paper with my mini mister with three different shades of purple and water and sprayed down the page.  Not enough color.  So I painted a deep purple directly onto the paper.  Better.

IMG_1254

It needed a little bit more punch.  Time to experiment.  I grabbed my Tattered Angels Rouge spray and just did one spritz, and really liked it.  So I added a bunch more along the side, let it drip a bit, then set it down to dry.  While that dried, I combined a large scrap of light yellow patterned paper from We R Memory Keepers and some black and white love graffiti paper and stuck them together in the opening of the top paper layer.  I made a triangle of paint to mesh the two a little more, then did some doodling.

IMG_1246

After the spray dried, I grabbed my paints and stencils.  I used an alphabet stencil and some yellow and orange paint mixed together in s couple spots.  Then I used white and (when the white was dry) yellow paint through a stencil to add my chevrons.  Once the paint was all dry, I used a think black American Crafts pen to outline the chevrons and the bricks.

IMG_1251

Then I added my photos, journaling and embellishments.  Among my embellishments are Amy Tangerine die-cuts and stickers (“Oh Joy”, frame on top left and under center photo), part of a Studio Calico  border sticker (green on left side), dragonfly transparent die-cuts from K&Co., black and white graffiti rub-ons (clearance from Michaels), made by me die-cut shapes (stars, heart, and sun in lower left corner), a Prima key and a mini red clothespin (dollar store, yeah, seriously :P).  I also put my journaling on a tag and popped it up on dimensional adhesive (along with a few corners of my photos) after adding a few embellishments.  I also tucked some embroidery thread behind my top photo and dragonfly die-cut.  Initially I was going to stick with yellow, but saw yellow, black, and a deep purpley (is that a word?) shade that I snagged and put together.

IMG_1249

I’m entering this in these challenges:

Kreative Koncepts Sketch 26

Punky Scraps # 76

5 thoughts on “…loving this sketch…

  1. So many fantastic details. A really unique page full of life. So glad you liked the sketch, and I think ‘purpley’ is an acceptable word in moments like this! Thank you for joining us at Kreative Koncepts.

Leave a Reply

