…playing with words…

…with one last project for the month.

“At the Corner of Curls and Waves”

IMG_1366

I’m entering this in a bunch of challenges.  First off is Scrap Around the World’s moodboard

SATW 6 2014 JUNE 2014 SATW

and two sketches:  Creative Scrappers #271 and  from the June sketch from My Mind’s Eye

MME June Sketch

The sketch from Creative Scrappers is relatively simple, so I thought it worked.  Just flipped both sketches to the right and bingo!  Shopping Our Stash’s current challenge is Color My World, in which you use your favorite color.  Well, for me, that’s yellow, hands down.  And it fits right into the moodboard for Scrap Aroud the World, so, fabulous!  Lastly, Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge is Anything Goes, featuring anything American Crafts.

IMG_1373

I love Amy Tangerine’s products, if I could have them all, I would! 😛  Anyway, I used an Amy Tangerine tag for my journaling, along with some frames I cut from my Amy Tangerine 6X6 paper pad.  I also die-cut the “@” sign and brackets around “and” from the same paper pad.  For the My Mind’s Eye challenge, I used a black flocked chipboard alpha set for the word “waves”.  Scrap Around the World’s moodboard also caught my eye in other ways besides the color scheme.  I loved the striped straws, so I rolled up a piece of laser cut paper and sprayed the white side with my Color Shine Mustard spray.  I also rolled up a piece of black with silver stars patterned paper.  The stripes made me think of baker’s twine, which I added to my page in a couple pages.

IMG_1374

The word LOVE also inspired the layout in general, and comes into play with the title.  I’ve struggled for years with my hair, being told it was wavy, but not really know how to bring the waves out.  I’ve done some research recently and been able to keep my hair healthy while bringing the curly waves out.  Which also explains the title, partially.  For a weird (or maybe not so weird) reason, I had the phrase “curds and whey” in my head, and simply changed the words to “curls and waves.”  My hair is just shy of being actually curly, so it seemed to fit.

IMG_1372

For the background, I took the background paper and brushed on a combination of gesso and yellow acrylic paint.  I also used gesso with my new Balzer Punchinella stencil and TCW numbers stencil, as well as the two stars in the bottom left corner.  I also used the same Color Shine spray along with my Tattered Angels Almost Black spray and my chevron stencil.  I also added some splatters of my Color Shine spray.  Then I added some paper tape (Bella Blvd. and Tim Holtz) and staples/glued different pieces to the page.  Embroidery thread, patterned paper scraps, die-cuts (Amy Tangerine, etc.).  I used some fabric glue in a beer bottle cap (cleaned first) and added thread and several beads of different sizes and used that for the “o” in “of.”  The “F” is a metal letter tile that I filled in with a white-out pen, which I also used to doodle on the paper in spots and outline “waves.”  I used a tiny spinner from Tim Holtz Ideaology, some ribbons (American Crafts) and fibers from my stash, sequins and buttons (don’t remember).  I used a camera sticker, cut out a compass from a transparent frame, and added the “@” sign die-cut.

IMG_1371

I also added some brads from my stash and a yellow bead from a dollar store buy.

And some more close up shots.

IMG_1370

IMG_1369

Thanks for stopping by and happy scrapping!

8 thoughts on “…playing with words…

Leave a Reply

