…being brave…

…so I’m celebrating with my first art journal page/post.  I’m also entering this in a challenge or two 🙂

IMG_0824

This is a composition notebook that I decided to make into an art journal.  The cover is still a work in progress.  This page had a bunch of stuff on it from previous projects.  Paint, vellum and paper scraps, a couple flowers, etc.  I didn’t love the color, so I gessoed over it.  Then I grabbed my Tim Holtz Distress Paint in Barn Door and edged the page and filled in the page a bit.  Then I took my red craft paint and covered the rest of the page.

IMG_0825

I got out my TCW Mini Bricks stencil my yellow craft paint and a makeup sponge and “pounced” the paint through the stencil.  I also pressed the reverse image from the leftover paint in a few spots as well.  I also used one of my favorite stamping techniques, bubble wrap, this time with yellow paint 😛  I also used a found object (bottle cap) and stamped yellow circles in a few spots.  Then I wrote my actual journaling.  I didn’t mind that it might get covered up.  I started out writing upside down, then turned the page around the wrote a couple other directions as well.

IMG_0828

Then I broke out my Prima Peacock Mask and Adirondack Pool Paint Dabber and painted a peacock feather across the bottom of my page (I LOVE feathers).  I moved the stencil slightly, then sprayed my Heidi Swapp Teal Color Shine spray, which was alright.  I grabbed my black paint used it with my homemade styrofoam stencil (I’ll post that later) of rough triangles, my Heidi Swapp Honeycomb stencil, and Heidi Swapp Chevron stencil.  I attempted to to stamp using the journey phrase stamp from my Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous Visual Artistry Lost and Found Stamp Set and yellow paint, and it kinda worked, but I really wanted the phrase to be seen and legible.  So I grabbed my Ranger Archival Jet Black Stamp Pad and inked up the stamp (after cleaning the paint off) and stamped the message onto the page.

IMG_0827

 I took a road sign sticker and stick it on some patterned paper, then cut it out, to make a mask.  I placed it paper side up on the corner of my page and used black paint.  I had planned on adhering the cut-out after masking it, but decided to leave the mask as it was.

IMG_0826

I’ve been loving the brush stroke script writing, but did the brush stroke with print lettering, and wrote “brave,” and after the black paint was dry, I accented it with teal and yellow.  A little outlining with my white gel pen, and I called it done.

I’ve seen the OLW challenges, and lots of people chose (at the beginning of the year, yes, I know) a word for the year.  I realized over the course of the past several weeks, I’ve had the song Brave by Sara Bareilles stuck in my head.  So I decided that’s my word for the year, and thought that it’d be a great first page/spread in my art journal.  Especially since I’ve been playing around in my journal without making any real pages.

I’m entering these challenges:

Simon Says Stamp – Vacation/Travel (road sign mask)

Scrap Around the World May Moodboard

12 thoughts on “…being brave…

  1. A great start to your art journal! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

  2. Great concept! I love your theme of brave and the colors of your journal are awesome. Please let us know what inspired you about our Mood Board! Thanks for playing along with us at SATW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

