…back for show and tell…

… with my “Wheres the mail?” layout.

IMG_0704

This was my entry for a few challenges, which you can check out here.

I did A LOT of stuff with this page.  At first I used all my paint dabbers to make a polka dot pattern and then used the same dabbers and my distress stains to make thick stripes.  Well, I didn’t like the stripes, so I used gesso to cover them, as best I could.  At least the gesso toned it down, which helped.  Then I used some of my spray inks on the top to give a nice touch of color.  I normally don’t use 4 x 6 photos, but it’s the only size I could print at home, so I printed out two copies, then angled and layered them before matting them on several patterned papers from DCWV Rockstar, Amy Tangerine, We R Memory Keepers WhiteOut, and Simple Stories Documented.  I also had a leftover frame and striped patterned paper that I dyed with red Distress Stain.  I also used my yellow Distress Stain on some polka dot paper, then used stencils to make several die-cuts of stars, arrows, and circles.

IMG_0707

On the background I also layered different paper tapes and some ribbon, as well as adding some matte medium to attach a nest of different colored embroidery thread.  I had used my red and blue Distress Stain on two yellow polka dot flowers.  I’m not a big flower person, in a sense, so on a whim I trimmed off the tops of the petals, leaving me with a bunch of mini scallops and two pentagon shapes.  I laid out the petal tips to make a scalloped border (part of the sketch).  The red and blue paper ribbon is patterned paper that I applied Distress Stain to and had been sitting around.  So I added some stickers/embellishments and layered under a green vellum frame.

IMG_0708

I also added some twine in spots, as well as a couple embellishments from Amy Tangerine (love her stuff!).  The postage stamp is a sticker from Simple Stories Documented.  I had played with my sprays and liked it so much I cut out a square to cover the center of the stamp.  I had a polka dot die-cut circle that I stamped “etc.” onto and adhered it to my layout.  The yellow camera die-cut was yellow and pink, but I covered the pink with white paint, and added some feathers, and a die-cut arrow.  I also had a strip of white fabric with brown polka dots.  Once again playing with my Distress Stains, I made it into a rainbow piece under the photo.  I also used my striped cloud stamp with paint to make my cloud die-cuts.

IMG_0706

Phew!!  I think that’s everything 😛  This is what happens when you have a lot of varied supplies and play! 🙂  If you have a question about anything, let me know!

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

4 thoughts on “…back for show and tell…

  1. Tracy,

    I love this – the picture if Aidan is priceless and your layout only makes it better. Love the way you point him up with the Baker’s twine. Good luck with your challenges. XO

Leave a Reply

