…showing off a yellow mini…

IMG_0457

Since my fave color is yellow…I tend to jump at the chance to do anything artsy/scrapbooking with the color.  Enter The Color Room April Palette 167 (Update: I missed the deadline by thatmuch…g&*%BH&).  As I’ve mentioned before, it’s a challenge for me to use browns in a layout.  Yes, I know, kraft paper, which totally rocks, but I still have issues.  Mainly because as I play more with my scrapbooking, I’m learning that I like bright colors, and I struggle with muted or vintage tones.

IMG_0455

Wood clock: Little Yellow Bicycle, fussy cut camera: Amy Tangerine paper, Amy Tangerine roller stamp

IMG_0458

IMG_0459                          IMG_0460

I had pulled out a background paper from Pink Paislee’s Honey Bee collection.  It was a muted shade of yellow ledger.  I’d been hoarding saving it, for something.  I decided I wanted to make it brighter yellow and use it as a base for a mini album about my little guy and the fun and joy he had when Grandpa was pulling out all the toys from the shed now that the weather is nice again (as I type this it’s raining outside, has been for the whole day ;P)

IMG_0461

IMG_0462                        IMG_0463

 I used a clothing tag, incidentally, from a recent shopping trip to get clothes for said little guy.  I covered the tag with the yellow chevron tape and tucked it under the photo of my little guy following Grandpa.  I tried my hand at some homemade stencils made from styrofoam food containers, then used them with black paint.  I used my other stencils (Heidi Swapp chevron, stars and circles and Crafter’s Workshop bricks) with white, gray, and black paint.  I used yellow and white chevron paper tape to cover the seams where I glued the three sections together.  I also used a bunch of stamps with my Archival Ink in Jet Black.

IMG_0464

IMG_0465                      IMG_0466

I used my yellow Zig Calligrapher pen to color the foam letter stickers (“spring”) and used Cosmo Cricket mini alpha stickers (“freedom”), along with Amy Tangerine papers, black mesh fabric, coordinating ribbons and embellishments, including Tim Holtz Film Strip Ribbon (tiny piece on the cover), a wood clock from Little Yellow Bicycle, a fussy cut camera from Amy Tangerine paper and staples.

 IMG_0467

IMG_0468

Thanks for looking and happy scrapping!

4 thoughts on “…showing off a yellow mini…

  1. That turned out really cute. I like the netting on the cover and the scattered bits of this and that put together into one cohesive work. Great project 😀

Leave a Reply

