…nose deep in a book…

…and enjoying every minute!

Once again, a challenge that was turning into a real challenge, until I saw another layout that inspired me.  This challenge by CSI definitely gave me pause.  The colors were muted with some shades of brown, and I wasn’t sure if I was going to go for it.  So I’m scrolling through the layouts, and one by Sylvia Mellander Ekman caught my attention.  Mostly black and white, with a touch of color, bold and graphic, it gave me an idea and jumping off point.

IMG_0488

 

Mine is not quite as simple, but I had issues working through the layout.  I really wanted the scattered journaling to “hang”, and originally was going to do a watercolor space at the top.

 

IMG_0490

 

That didn’t quite work out, and the tealish paint dried before I could spread it out with water, so, since my inspiration layout had doodling, I went with that.

 

IMG_0489

 

After working the frames and photo mat together (paper and clear transparent frame by Simple Stories Documented, green frame by Studio Calico), I colored “ADVENTURE” black to match the color scheme better, and that made me feel happy (dimensional chipboard by K&Co.).

 

IMG_0493

 

I used Cosmo Cricket mini black on cream alpha stickers that I colored with my Tim Holtz Distress Marker in Broken China, and layered the stickers for extra dimension.  I also used adhesive foam square to pop up the bottom left corner of the photo mat and then under the right side of my larger photo.  The strings are the paint dabs, black pen doodling, and baker’s twine adhered with an Elmer’s glue pen.

 

IMG_0492

Background is white cardstock top half, Amy Tangerine paper bottom half.

Thank you so much for looking and comments are very welcome!  Happy scrapping!

2 thoughts on “…nose deep in a book…

  1. Pingback: …doing the happy dance! | my ScrapMuse is...

Leave a Reply

