…getting back on schedule…

…thanks to everyone for their thoughts and sentiments for hubby’s grandmother.  We knew she was nearing her goodbye, but it was still tremendously exhausting.   Oddly enough, my birthday happened a few days before she passed.  One of my presents, from my awesome sister-in-law and her equally awesome boyfriend (whom my son also adores), was a craft store gift card.  Thankfully I’d gotten other birthday money because I definitely went over my limit 😛

You may also remember a post I made aWHILE ago about a scrapbook album I made for Grandma’s 100th birthday.  Soon after her birthday, she suffered a stroke.  In addition to other thing, she needed 24 hour care.  Anyone who has gone through the process of getting help for someone, live-in or otherwise, knows it can be a bit of a process.  Olga was not there from the start, but she was with Grandma the longest, and was wonderful to her.  When Grandma passed, I thought it only fitting that she get a page dedicated to her in the scrapbook.

I did a quick check around an found a sketch that worked well and definitely got inspired by the design team creations, and playing with my new supplies.

Creative Scrappers Sketch # 253

100_9479

For the layout I used purple, teal, blue, and small touches of green.  The same colors  used in the album, and Grandma’s favorite color is purple.

The background is a base of double-sided patterned paper from an old kit.  Then I applied Adirondack Paint Dauber with a newly acquired Heidi Swapp Honeycomb stencil, as well as shades of blue and purple paint watered down and sprayed to create drips across the layout.  Also sprayed is (also new) Heidi Swapp Color Shine spray in teal.  I also splatted and ripped paint and used a green pigment ink stamp pad on the edges.

100_9482

i used a large paper doily, some fabric and ribbon, along with some 7Gypsies paper tape that got spattered with the Color Shine mist for a nice dash of color.  I also gessoed and painted a heart pin (it was originaly pink), and combined some flower, brads and buttons.  THis “flower” above is actually cut from patterned paper, with a little mod podge added to the petals for some shine.  The button looked like Chinese lettering, and Grandma (with Grandpa) had traveled all over the world, including southeasern Asia.  I also used an old K&Co. ephemera die-cut vintage hairbrush.  I had a old, large piece of purple vellum, which I sprayed with the teal Color Shine.  Once dry, I traced a rough circle on the other side and cut it out, adhereing it off-center onto the doily.

100_9485

I layered some patterned papers, stapled more fabric, and a slightlly altered journaling card (to go with my color scheme).

100_9484

For the title, I used Tim Holtz grungeboard letters, colored with my Faber Castell water-based crayons, then stamped with an asian block clear stamp with black ink.  I also added a tiny vintage bird die-cut and some film strip ribbon (also TH).

100_9487

100_9481

RIP Grandma and thanks to Olga for everything she did.

Thanks for looking!

Happy scrapping!

Leave a Reply

