…happy with this card…

…As it’s be said (a few times), I’m not a fan of pink.  However, certain scrap goodies are going to have pink stuff regardless.  So I decided to finally put these pieces to good use with a card!

100_9227

I used my black Tattered Angels spray mist on the kraft cardstock, then used a postage stamp and flying birds stamp (both from Tim Holtz, just two different stamp sets) with white acrylic paint to add more depth to the background.  Then I bgan layering my other elements.  I used glue dots to adhere the ribbon into a heart shape, and added some other pieces and stickers, washi tape, and buttons to complete the look.  The typewriter, flowers, star, “my story” ticket and bird are all from a kit from January 2011!  I also decided to mat the typewriter sticker on some patterned paper, and found a piece from my DCWV Once Upon a Time paper pack (purchase once upon a time 😉 then edged the typewriter with my white gel pen (that I’ve had for ages).  I also used a K & Co. green patterned fabric scrap as “leaves” under one of my flowers (from a swatch pack I got a good 3 years ago!).  I also used some paper scraps that worked for the color scheme.

100_9230

100_9229

100_9225

I attempted a technique that didn’t work out as I thought.  I stamped my pink and yellow dye ink cubes onto my craft mat and spritzed with water.  My aim was to get a splotchy, two-color bleed onto my tag.  Well…I may have sprayed too much water, so what color do red and yellow  make?  So yeah, my tag was tinged pink/orange/tiny hints of yellow.  So I let it dry, and had planned to attach it to the card as is, but I had my gesso out, so I edged the tag with gesso.  Turns out, I love it!  I also used my green Sakura pen to edge the bird to help it stand out and tucked a small “nest” of green thread behind the bird as well (thread left over from my cross-stitch days, roughly two+ decades ago, and no I’m not THAT old :P).

ScrapFriends Yummy Scrap #17 Color Challenge

Use it Tuesday #65: Scraps, Pieces, Odds & Ends

Enjoy and happy scrapping!

9 thoughts on “…happy with this card…

  1. Love how your odd and ends came together! And the color on the tag is perfect, happy accidents are the best. Thanks for sharing at Use It Tuesday.

  2. I love the typewriter piece. 🙂 I dig this card.

    Still need to finish my scrapbook, but I get stuck every now and then when I can’t figure out how things “go together”. Hope to be as good in scrapbooking as I am with art journaling. Eventually.

    • Yeah, I wanted to make it the focal point of the card, which I think I did 🙂

      I’ve been there too. Something I really want to use, but it’s just not working. I’ve eventually found a home for these things, so don’t sweat it!

  3. LOOOOVE your layers…& it’s funny how ‘mistakes’ always turn out a turning point!!! And your tag is just PERFECT for our Scrap Friends colours, too. BONUS:):):) Gorgeous work – thanks for joining in:):):)

Leave a Reply

