…fresh off a card spree…

…and sick…but no matter!

So I wanted to make a card for a boy, which meant no flowers, buttons, or ribbons…but since Halloween is coming up, I thought, why not a Halloween card for a boy!  So here’s my effort…

100_9218

For this card I started with a kraft cardstock base and added gesso, then black and gold Tattered Angels spray mist.  Then I cut strips of patterned paper (the dark green with monsters is something I’ve had forever!  Might even be from when I first started scrapbooking!) and distressed the edges and inked them in black pigment ink, and finally crinkled.  I pushed brushed metal brads (also from my stash and quite a few years old) on the ends and adhered the strips to look like a boarded up window.

100_9220

Next, I took a piece of cardboard and ripped pieces off of one side, then added gesso and black pigment ink to give it a weathered look.  I adhered the cardboard piece onto patterned paper with orange jewelry cord (something else I’ve had for a few years, and I’ve got other colors too) wrapped around it like rope.  I also added toothpicks to make it look like a sign.  Onto the front I added three die-cut Halloween sentiments (I finally cut into a sheet of die-cut Halloween sentiments, and there’s more where those came from!).

100_9221

I like the beaten up, haunted house look to it.  I figure it’s a good card for a boy, just spooky enough, and rough and tumble.

I’m entering this into the following challenges:

SOS #20: Kids

Use it Tuesday #64: Use Two

7 thoughts on “…fresh off a card spree…

  1. Oh my gosh!! This is such an amazing card! All the details!! You ROCKED this! I love it!!! Some little boy is going to love this card and I love, love, love the details!! Thanks for sharing this with us at Shopping Our Stash this week!
    Blessings,
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

