…really loving this album…

that I made for the Punky Scraps August Challenge, which included a color combo and a mood board.  This challenge also came with a twist – use chipboard!

100_9071

Now my aunt LOVES flamingos (no, she doesn’t have the one on her lawn and no, she’s doesn’t live in the South.)  So hubby and I have gone to a few zoos, some more than once.  I got into the habit of taking a photo or two of any flamingos we saw.  So when I saw the colors, I immediately thought of a mini album of the photos I’ve taken.  Here’s where things get interesting…I’m fairly certain I’ve taken more than the four photos shown here.  However, being that a lot of hubby and I’s stuff is packed up, including most of our hard copy photos, I could only find four.  But, no matter!

100_9068

I grabbed stuff from my stash in the color combo, and also went along with the mood board.  To make the album, which is about 4″ square, I folded my patterned paper and used my trimmer to make the two page layout base.  Folded them in half, applied gesso and purple glitter glue in different patterns and spots, the used my paper piercer and a needle threader to poke 3 sets of holes and thread baker’s twine through.  I also added a  Hambly clear border sticker to random sides of the page break for another accent (inspired by this album made by Riikka).

100_9073

So in addition to my chipboard pieces (the green flower in this photo), I also used washi tape, patterned paper, some die-cuts, baker’s twine, ribbon, clear border stickers…

100_9076

alpha stickers, pieces I cut from a teal knit doily (it’s peeking out from the left side of the photo)….

100_9078

100_9079

tags, a photo frame sticker, and embroidery thread, (that’s a raw chipboard flower that I colored with craft marker in the lower right corner), part of a fabric swatch (on the cover), a metal American Crafts button (also on the cover), and a paper doily.

100_9080

I really loved making this album!  Hope my aunt likes it just as much!

Happy scrapping!

8 thoughts on “…really loving this album…

    • The colors were part of the challenge, and I plan to use a variation of them for another project, but the eggplant was too dark for that, so I went with this. Thanks! Hope my aunt likes it too! 🙂

  1. Pingback: …doing a happy dance! | my ScrapMuse is...

Leave a Reply

