…showing off, as promised…

…and thanks for coming back to see the full reveal.

So, a smidgeon of background first.  A gathering at our house and my sister-in-law’s friend came over.  Well my son, who was roughly a year old, was smitten with her, and it was adorable.  Every time she smiled at him, he’d smile back, then burrow into my shoulder.  So we jokingly call her his girlfriend (though my son has a preschool classmate that may be edging her out of the competition :P)

So Labor Day that year was sunny and warm, and we let my son be “diaper baby” (read: nothing but his diaper).  So this friend ended up getting a new SLR camera (how I would love to win one of those things!) and ended up taking a bunch of pictures of our little guy.  Here is one of the many beautiful, adorable shots she took:

“That Face”

100_6524

I really wanted to use the space next to his face in the photo, so that’s where the title went.

100_6529

I ended up sticking to a color scheme decided by the patterned paper, so light blue, orange, white and silver.  The “flower” near the fabric tape is actually a lace/ribbon in white and blue with silver wrapped as a “flower” with a clear blue button center.

100_6525

Originally I had just use my Amy Tangerine Photo Op Roller stamp, but though it needed something extra.  So on went the label stickers and some 7Gypsies fabric tape.

100_6526

100_6527

I really wanted to do a paint background, so I marked the corners of the photo in pencil, then mixed some gesso and blue acrylic paint and went to town.

Supplies: Patterned paper – We R Memory Keepers WhiteOut; gesso, blue acrylic paint, Ink – Tim Holtz Distress Ink Denim, ColorBox Mixed Media pigment ink (orange); Flowers – Prima Fall Animal, blue flower; brads, buttons, blue fibers, baker’s twine, Tape – 7Gypsies fabric tape; Stickers – Lucky You; Pen: American Crafts black 03; Ribbon – white and blue lace trim with silver

Submitting this for Really Reasonable Ribbon Challenge #70, RRR70

Enjoy and happy scrapping!

22 thoughts on “…showing off, as promised…

  1. Can you come to my place and help me actually start my scrap albums! I’ve got all the pieces ready except for actually printing our photos from our USA holiday over a year ago now! I suck – you rock 😉

    • Thank you!! I think I’m going to be making a big grand post for all the awards I’ve been nominated for (not a huge amount, but for me, a lot). Thanks again!

  2. I got here via your husband’s blog and loved this work and I really enjoy the fact that you have broken down the steps of how you achieved it. This really appeals to the ‘crafty’ side of me so looking forward to more blogs. 🙂

    • Yay! *shy grin* Thank you very much! Yeah, I try to break down stuff, or at least what I would question when i look at a layout I really like. What craftsy stuff do you like? And keep watching for more (along with the archives). And if you’re into scrapbooking or papercrafting, let me know! (Yes, shameless self-promotion, but that’s why I have a blog :P)

      • I dip in and out of a lot of crafts depending on the mood I’m in. One of my favourites is cross stitch but I also knit and crochet (occasionally) and then there’s the card making phase that I went through…. I’ve never tried scrapbooking, I more appreciate it from afar at the moment! All my time is taken up writing but I do love to pick up the cross stitch as a stress buster every now and again! Thanks for having a look around. 🙂

      • Absolutely! If you have anything you’d like me to do for you, that you can “appreciate from afar,” let me know 🙂 I did cross-stitch for awhile. Made a few gifts for people. Two different ones I made into pillows for my mother and sister, as well as some framed pieces for myself. The last one I made was a marine life scene for my husband that I framed. I’ve still got TONS of thread, which I actually use with my scrapping, cuz it’s thicker than sewing thread. I’ve never really gotten into cardmaking. Not sure why, but I might start making the occasional card. I don’t have a lot of people/animal/scene stamps (there’s one of an alien riding a skateboard :D), but I love seeing them on cards.

Leave a Reply

