…pretty busy…

So I’ve been busy working on a project for dear hubby for a gaming/fantasy convention we’ll be a vendor at later this month.  I also finished a layout that was actually for a couple challenges, but I didn’t finish in time 😦  I’m still going to post it here for you guys:)

So this layout was based on a couple old challenges.  One challenge was to use the color combination of red, brown and black (this was also during February).  Another was to use your punches.  Well, I only have one punch.  The main problem for me is storage.  I’d love to have a Cricut, but no space 😦

Anyway, here’s my layout: “Die Hard Love”

100_6241

100_6242

100_6247

100_6244

100_6243

Supplies:Patterned paper – BasicGrey, DCWV Tattered Time & Rock Star; Stamps – Studio G (arrow, zigzag lines), Amy Tangerine Photo Op Roller Date stamp; Stickers – Pebbles, Inc.(love, together) and other;  Acrylic paint in red, black, brown; Chipboard – Paper Crush (tag, stars), other (die); Fabric tape – 7Gypsies; rub-on alphas; Avery tag; Ink – Tim Holtz Distress Ink Rusty Hinge, Studio G – black pigment ink;  Punch – Fiskars Postage Stamp Border Punch

As for the project for my hubby, Charles, I’ve made a display piece to advertise his books.  I’ve got one done, one in process.  Here’s the one for Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero

Arcon marketing

I attempted a gesso texture technique that didn’t work as well as I hoped.  So, from the same UK magazine, I tried a different technique with tissue paper.  Basically, you glue objects to your base (cardstock, grayboard, etc.).  You then glue tissue paper over everything, gently pushing the tissue down around the objects.  Then you paint to your heart’s content.

Questions and comments welcome!

Happy scrapping!

8 thoughts on “…pretty busy…

  1. The display piece is really cool looking!
    It is just on a piece of cardboard??? With some tissue paper and paint??? It is amazingly simple and elegant!

    • It’s actually brown textured cardstock. I originally tried a gesso (kinda like artsy paint primer) technique that didn’t quite work, so I did this instead. Same magazine too, from the UK. You adhere objects to your base, then you spread liquid adhesive and take tissue paper (after you crunch it up to give it texture) and spread the tissue paper over the objects. Then I used acrylic paints in various green and brown shades (for the character of Luke), and used my Tattered Angels gold spray mist to add an extra glimmer (that might not be in the photo). Nice job on figuring it out from a photo!

      • You’re very welcome! If you want to see the original articles, check out the magazine Craft Stamper. It’s from the UK. They do offer a free stamp every issue, but only for UK residents. They have some AWESOME stuff, and they tell all the supplies, otherwise I would not have known to get gesso or mod podge. The name always made me nervous, but now I love ’em!

      • Oh, that’s great! I’ll look into it! I’m not an avid scraper (is that a real word?) but I collect stamps, fancy paper, and stickers, so I made albums every now and then! I’m going to try out some of your techniques!

      • It’s scrapper, and yes it is, at least to anyone in the scrapbooking/papercrafting/mixed media world! 😀 I will make you an avid scrapper yet! I’m sure there are tons of photos with great stories that you have yet to tell 😀 *evil laughter* (well, maybe not so much evil as mischievous)

Leave a Reply

